the week of steph

It’s been a big week for Steph Curry and golf

October 19, 2023

Michael Reaves

The week isn’t over and there’s already been two big announcements regarding Golden State Warriors superstar Steph Curry and the game he loves almost as much as basketball.

On Tuesday, the World Golf Hall of Fame announced that Curry will receive the Charlie Sifford Award next year at World Golf Hall of Fame induction ceremony June 10 at Pinehurst (N.C.) Resort. The award honors recipients for their spirit in advancing diversity in golf.

Two days later, it was announced that Curry was part of an ownership group that purchased the rights to the San Francisco team for TGL, the start-up tech golf league owned by Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy.

The Sifford Award was created two years ago to honor someone who personifies Sifford's groundbreaking achievements through perseverance, confidence, respect and adaptability. Curry will be part of the ceremony during U.S. Open week that also honors Padriag Harringon, Sandra Palmer, Johnny Farrell, Beverly Hanson, Tom Weiskopf and the 13 LPGA founders.

Part of Curry’s golf accomplishments include launching Underrated Golf, where he strives to provide equity, access and opportunities to student-athletes from all communities. In 2019, Curry helped Howard University compete on the Division I level by funding the golf team for the next six years.

“I'm incredibly honored to be chosen as the recipient of this year's Charlie Sifford Award and am grateful to the World Golf Hall of Fame for the recognition in this sport that I am so passionate about,” Curry said. “I believe that we have the opportunity to grow the game of golf by providing equity, access and opportunity to young golfers who have that same passion, dedication and determination as so many of us out on the green.”

San Francisco is the fifth of six TGL teams to be announced, joining Atlanta, Boston, Los Angeles and New York. Curry joins Avenue Sports’ Marc Lasry and fellow NBA stars Klay Thompson and Andre Iguodala as part of the ownership group.

The league is billed to fuse technology with live action in an arena built in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., and will have six teams of four players. Aside from Woods and McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele, Matt Fitzpatrick, Max Homa, Wyndham Clark, Tom Kim, Tyrrell Hatton, Tommy Fleetwood, Cam Young, Keegan Bradley, Collin Morikawa, Rickie Fowler, Justin Thomas, Sahith Theegala, Lucas Glover, Shane Lowry, Justin Rose, Adam Scott, Min Woo Lee, Billy Horschel and Kevin Kisner have all committed.

It is scheduled to start Jan. 9 and will be televised on ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN+.