Payday at Doral

Here's the prize money payout for each team at the 2023 LIV Golf Team Championship - Miami

October 20, 2023

Cliff Hawkins

The LIV Golf League concluded its 2023 season by leaning into its team format, hosting the LIV Golf Team Championship at Trump National Doral in Florida. And to say the event was lucrative was, well, an understatement. A total of $50 million was on the line with the four-man team that won on Sunday—Crushers GC captained by Bryson DeChambeau—earning $14 million.

Recall that in 2023, team winnings at any tournament have gone toward team expenses as LIV Golf tried to have each team become its own independent entity, creating its own value for possible sale to investors. (On Thursday, Bubba Watson and Dustin Johnson claimed the squads they captain, RangeGoats and 4Aces, respectively, have gotten multiple equity offers.)

With that, here’s how the purse breakdown for the winning team worked out:

Winning team: $14 million
Team share: $8.4 million (60 percent)
Players share: $1.4 million per player

Similarly, the prize money earned by all other teams shook out to 60 percent going to the “team” and 40 percent to the players for their week’s work.

Friday and Saturday's play allowed the top four teams from the regular season (Crushers, RangeGoats GC, Torque GC and the 4Aces) to be playing for the top four prizes. All players on all 12 teams competed on Sunday in stroke play, with all four players scores added together for a team total. The lowest score of the four teams that won Saturday matches will be the overall winner, with the remaining teams claiming second through fourth place. The losing squads on Saturday are playing for fifth through eighth place, with the losing squads from Friday playing for ninth through 12th place.

Here's the prize money payouts for each team this week at Doral:

Winner: Crushers GC (Bryson DeChambeau, Charles Howell III, Paul Casey, Anirban Lahiri), -11, $14 million ($1.4 million per player)

2: RangeGoats GC (Bubba Watson, Thomas Pieters, Harold Varner III, Talor Gooch), -9, $8 million ($800,000 per player)

3: Torque GC (Joaquin Niemann, Sebastian Munoz, Mito Pereira, David Puig), -6, $6 million ($600,000 per player)

4: 4Aces GC (Dustin Johnson, Peter Uihlein, Patrick Reed, Pat Perez), E, $4 million ($400,000 per player)

5: Stinger GC (Dean Burmester, Brendan Grace, Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen), -7, $3.25 million ($325,000 per player)

6: Fireballs GC (Sergio Garcia, Carlos Ortiz, Eugenio Chacarra, Abraham Ancer), -4, $3 million ($300,000 per player)

7: Cleeks GC (Martin Kaymer, Bernd Wiesberger, Richard Bland, Graeme McDowell), +4, $2.75 million ($275,000 per player)

8: HyFlyers GC (Phil Mickelson, Cameron Tringale, Brendan Steele, James Piot), +5, $2.5 million ($250,000 per player)

9: Ripper GC (Cameron Smith, Matt Jones, Jed Morgan, Marc Leishman), -5, $2 million ($200,000 per player)

10: Smash GC (Brooks Koepka, Jason Kokrak, Matthew Wolff, Chase Koepka), E, $1.75 million ($175,000 per player)

11: Majesticks GC (Henrik Stenson, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Sam Horsfield), +4, $1.5 million ($150,000 per player)

12: Iron Heads GC (Kevin Na, Scott Vincent, Danny Lee, Sihwan Kim), +5, $1.25 million ($125,000 per player)

Trump National Doral: Blue Monster
The linchpin of the famous four-course complex previously known as Doral Golf Resort, the Blue Monster had hosted a PGA Tour event annually from 1962 to 2016. The fearsome layout was designed by Dick Wilson in 1962 and set the template for the modern south Florida course with lakes galore, deep bunkers and greenpads elevated above the fairways for drainage and aerial target golf. Several questionable renovations in the 1990s and early 2000s moved it away from the original Wilson look, and the design was lost for a period of time. Always intended to be a course presenting shot-making demands for good players, the Blue Monster was given added bite by Gil Hanse and Jim Wagner through the creation of new slopes and ridges on several holes and the excavation of new lakes on the par-3 15 and drivable par-4 16 to add more excitement to the finish. But they wisely left the legendary 18th nearly untouched. Why mess with history? The changes were completed shortly before the PGA Tour took the course out of its annual location.
View Course